There are three established times for daily prayer:

Shacharit (Morning) can be prayed from Alot Hashachar (dawn) until Chatzot (midday)
Minchah (Afternoon) can be prayed from Minchah Gedolah (earliest Minchah) to Shkiah (sunset)
Ma’Ariv (Evening) can be prayed from Tzeit Hakochovim (nightfall) to Chatzot (midnight)

Why three times a day ?

  • Three patriarchs.
  • Three times of temple sacrifice.
  • Biblical examples such as Daniel praying three times a day.

Kavanat HaLev (Way of the Heart)?

Devotion and intention from the heart is essential to prayer. Kavanah כונה implies concentration, worship and single-mindedness.